Step back in time.
The British Virgin Islands are full of history. These islands were settled before the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock. There is very little left of the earliest Amerindian inhabitants, but the Europeans left their mark. The Ciboneys arrived 2000 BC, and they were followed by the Ameridians. Everything changed when Cristopher Columbus passed through the islands on his second voyage in 1493. Columbus named these islands Las Vírgenes, The Virgins, in honor of St. Ursula. Christopher Columbus named Virgin Gorda “The Fat Virgin", because the island's profile on the horizon looks like a fat woman lying .
The copper mine ruins
The Copper Mine is now a National Park. Centuries ago Virgin Gorda was a rich source of copper. This abandoned mine played a crucial role in the history of Virgin Gorda. Before the europeans arrival the Amerindians used the area for copper. The europeans eventually colonized Virgin Gorda: Spaniards passing through the BVI were the first europeans to mine coppers here in the early 18th century. But Cornish miners built the ruins that remain today in the 1800s, following a decline in mineral deposits in Cornwall, England. The mine closed in 1862 due to escalating expenses and low market price.
After the copper mines closed, Virgin Gorda flailed once again. It wasn’t until the 1960s that its Spanish towns and rocky beaches started attracting international visitors, but because these visitors included some of the world’s wealthiest families, Virgin Gorda quickly became a mix of protected lands and tropical resorts.
This place is so picturesque and charged with a special energy. During “winter” it feels like you are in England or somewhere else. The powerful waves, Caribbean winds and sometimes, stormy nights with the moon, gives it an eerie special vibe. Perfect for stargazing.
The wreck of the Rhone
The wreck of the Chikuzen
LITTLE FORT NATIONAL PARK
Little Fort National Park sits on the former site of a Spanish fortress. It's now a 36-acre nature sanctuary, which offers strenuous hiking across its rugged terrain and dense vegetation. Little Fort National Park can be found just south of the Yacht Harbour. Some masonry walls still exist on the hillside, including the ruins of a structure called the Powder House. Hidden amongst the enormous boulders at Fort Point, between Spanish Town and Big Trunk Bay is Little Fort. The site includes a small fortification and masonry ruins, including a munitions store on the hillside. Access is very difficult at this undeveloped site, as hikers must cross the rugged terrain and dense vegetation. The only area readily accessible for entrance into the park is located at the seashore, from here a difficult hiking trail leads to the munitions store. Three walls surround a small magazine room, sheltered by a ceiling made for mortar and stone.